DELIVERY OF FOOD AT HOME

I am sure all of you have order food at home, such as pizza, kebab, chinese food, etc. When I have ordered it I always think how they plan the logistic for deliver the food in the corresponding address.

I propose two options:

  1. A FIFO (First In First Out) system: They deliver the orders in the sequence in which they have been requested regardless of the location of the address.
  2. A FIFO system taking into account the location of the address, that is to say, they deliver the orders in the sequence in which they were requested, but also, they have into account if the orders are close on the dealer’s route.

I think the second option is better for the reason that they can save gas money and deliver time, because the same delivery man can deliver several orders in the same journey. But it has a little problem, they must wait a bit between some requests in order to have deliveries in the same route.

Leave a comment